Colonial Williamsburg® The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation's Official History and Citizenship Website

Page content
Reset text sizeResize text larger

April 16, 2004

CW to display seldom seen examples of antique American furniture

Colonial Williamsburg will showcase a captivating selection of seldom seen American antiques in “American Furniture: Virginia to Vermont,” on display at the DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum beginning May 29 and running through December 2005. Approximately 100 antiques from New England, Philadelphia and Williamsburg plus several examples of elegant painted furniture will impart valuable information about the lives of early Americans -- as shown through the furniture they made or used -- and will offer intriguing comparisons of differences in regional styles, style characteristics and design influences.

Highlights of the exhibition include a newly acquired Grecian couch attributed to Hugh Finlay of Baltimore, a side chair labeled by William Savery of Philadelphia, a desk and bookcase owned by the Galt family of Williamsburg and Norfolk, a ca.1710 joined chest from Hadley, Mass., with the initials “MH” inscribed on the front for its original owner, Mary Hubbard Ponder, and a number of pieces crafted by Virginia cabinetmakers.

According to Tara Gleason Chicirda, Colonial Williamsburg’s associate curator of furniture and curator of the exhibition, “This exhibition allows guests to compare the wide variety of forms, styles and regional expressions found in American furniture. While Colonial Williamsburg is known for its collection of Southern furniture, it also has great examples from New England and the mid-Atlantic that demonstrate the development of furniture production in those locales.”

The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s award winning DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum, supported by the DeWitt Wallace Fund for Colonial Williamsburg, displays the foundation's exceptional collection of English and American decorative arts. Entered through the reconstructed Public Hospital of 1773, the museum is on Francis Street near Merchants Square and is open daily from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. Admission is included in any Colonial Williamsburg admission ticket or by separate one-day or annual museums ticket. For program information call (757) 220-7724.

Media Contact:
Sophia Hart
(757) 220-7272