April 8, 2008
History and music harmonize in the Revolutionary City Concert Series evenings at the DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum
Colonial Williamsburg’s 2008 Revolutionary City Concert series features three different evening programs. Each concert starts at 7 p.m. in the DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum.
From Ear to Ear explores the roots of 18th-century African American music by traveling on a musical journey from Africa to the Caribbean and on to America. Guests can enjoy the intricate rhythms of Africa and discover how African music was reshaped and transformed into a distinctly “soulful” African American musical sound. Concert dates are April 25, May 16, June 13, July 11, Aug. 1, Oct. 3 and 17, and Nov. 14.
The Art of Fifing and Drumming allows guests to experience the life of the 18th-century military musician during the American Revolution and is presented by Colonial Williamsburg Fifes and Drums. Concert dates are April 11, May 2 and 23, June 6 and 27, July 25, Aug. 15, Oct. 24 and Nov. 7.
The Foundation’s musical ambassadors celebrate their 50th anniversary in 2008. Founded in 1958, the Fifes and Drums perform in Colonial Williamsburg’s Historic Area nearly 500 times during the year in daily programs from mid-February through December and during special programs observing major holidays.
The Cobham Consort brings together three longtime performers of 17th- and 18th-century popular music. The performance will include an exciting mix of vocal and instrumental music featuring a baroque guitar, mandolin, viola da gamba and various wind and percussion instruments. The concert not only captures the spirit and sound of the colonial period, but informs guests of the stories behind the songs and tunes that were popular in 17th- and 18th-century Virginia. Concert dates are April 18, May 9 and 30, June 20, July 18, Aug. 8 and 29, Oct. 10 and 31, and Nov. 21.
Tickets are $12 for adults and $6 for children and may be purchased at any ticket sales location.
The Museums of Colonial Williamsburg include the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum and the DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum. Entrance to The Museums of Colonial Williamsburg is through the Public Hospital of 1773 on Francis Street between Nassau and South Henry Streets. Museum operating hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily. For information and reservations call (757) 220-7724.
Established in 1926, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation is the not-for-profit educational institution that preserves and operates the restored 18th-century Revolutionary capital of Virginia as a town-sized living history museum, telling the inspirational stories of our nation’s founding men and women. Within the restored and reconstructed buildings, historic interpreters, attired as colonial men and women from slaves to shopkeepers to soldiers, relate stories of colonial Virginia society and culture — stories of our journey to become Americans – while historic tradespeople research, demonstrate and preserve the 18th-century world of work and industry. As Colonial Williamsburg interprets life in the time of the American Revolution for its guests, it also invites them to interact with history. “Revolutionary City®” – a dramatic live street theater presentation – is a 2008 Rand McNally Best-of-the-Road™ Editor’s Pick. Williamsburg is located in Virginia’s Tidewater region, 20 minutes from Newport News, within an hour’s drive of Richmond and Norfolk, and 150 miles south of Washington,D.C., off Interstate 64. For more information about Colonial Williamsburg, call 1-800-HISTORY or visit Colonial Williamsburg’s Web site at www.history.org.